Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Fairy Tale Prompt May 29th 2015 “dancing”

cherry blossom

Dear friends of MLMM,

This week’s Fairy Tale prompt is a little bit different than the other fairy tales. As you maybe know I am a haiku poet from The Netherlands. And as a haiku poet I don’t compose only haiku, but also haibun. A haibun is a kind of short story in which prose and haiku are entwined. For this Fairy Tale prompt I love to share a haibun, which I wrote, for your inspiration. This haibun is about my joy and love for the cherry trees. I have a very old Sakura in my garden and every year I celebrate the first cherry blossom. I once have written a haibun about this celebration.

DANCING

In the middle of the night. I couldn’t sleep … too much thoughts tolling around in my head. Even the ones I love to have about haiku. I see every hour go by. At last I am going downstairs. Have something to eat and drink and maybe … that’s making me sleepy.

As I look through the window I see that a new day is dawning. The sky colors in the most wonderful reddish and yellowish. With a smile on my face I see the first blossom of the cherry tree in my backyard. I walk outside. I am so in love with my cherry tree and when the first blossoms begin blooming I become very happy. My thousand thoughts have gone. I only have eyes for the young cherry blossoms.

And than … birds begin to sing in a most wonderful symphony … it’s the ultimate experience and leaves me in awe. I forget everything around me and start dancing. I love this feeling of freedom and happiness. It’s really a great and wonderful morning.

I wonder … why has the Almighty given me this great present. I bow my head and then I see my naked body. A smile on my face … “this is freedom!”

standing naked
in awe of the first cherry blossom
dancing in the garden

© Chèvrefeuille

The goal for this Fairy Tale prompt is to write a short story or poem about something you celebrate every year, not your birthday, but something else. Of course you may bring magic and mystery into your short story or poem. The above haibun is just for your inspiration.

When you’re done, TAG the post Fairy Tale Prompt and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Mister Linky widget. If you can link to this post – allowing a Pingback – that would be helpful too. We don’t want to miss your post if the widget isn’t functioning properly.

 

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

6 comments on “Fairy Tale Prompt May 29th 2015 “dancing”

  1. Jen
    May 29, 2015

    A perfect celebration, Chev!
    Such joy in your haibun 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fairy Tale Prompt May 29th 2015 “dancing” – Gratia Day | Morpethroad

  3. Pingback: The Day We Met – Fairy Tale Prompt May 29th 2015 “dancing” cherry blossom | ladyleemanila

  4. Tournesol (Clr)
    June 2, 2015

    What beautiful haibun, Kristjaan, filled with such youthful joy!

  5. Pingback: Soul Dance | Rebelle Angel

  6. Pingback: Dancing |

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
