Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Writing Prompt #106 “Valuable Lessons from Mom”

It is Mother’s Day in the USA (in Sweden it comes the last Sunday in May). So before we begin a big thank you to all the mothers the world over =)

My relationship with my own mother is a complex one. In raising my own daughter I have deviated much in style from her. That said my mom does excel in certain areas and I only hope that I can embody those qualities in raising my own child.

I am not the same religion as my mom and never once has she condemned me for it, never once has she attempted to convert me. She asks me for advice based on my own beliefs and as a girl would buy me book after book on Buddhism despite having herself been raised strictly Catholic. She never once handed me a Bible. She never once mentioned hell fire or salvation.

Now as a mother myself she never questions my parenting and follows along with my style rather than imposing her own ideologies.

Acceptance, despite all our difficulties and our marked differences and our shared stubbornness. I never got the sense that she was trying to remake me into someone else, only that she was trying to cope with/get to know the person that I already was.

What is the most valuable lesson your mother was taught you?

About mindlovemisery

Music: PJ Harvey, Radio Head, Fleetwood Mac, David Usher/Moist, Johnny Cash, Portishead, Damien Rice (basically I am a 90s kid I like alternative, grunge, Industrial and other types of metal, oldies, punk, rock etc.) Authors: Sylvia Plath, James Baldwin, Edmund White, Arthur Rimbaud, Jim Carrol, Jeff Noon, etc. Movies: A Clock Work Orange, Fight Club, House of Flying Daggers (I like a lot of cult movies, horror, comedy, drama, I don't like action and fantasy is terrifying lol) Philosophical Beliefs: Buddhism, Daoism, Shintoism (before it changed under Nationalism), The Transcendent Order Favorite Video Game: Planescape Torment What I do: read, write, yoga, pilates, weight-lift, walk, study philosophy and psychology, dance like a crazy person, paint, dream etc. Qualities: stubborn, sarcastic, teasing, playful, open, flirtatious, eccentric, passionate, forgetful, open-minded I am 32 and married (almost 13 years) with a beautiful 5 year old daughter. Everyone thinks I'm a hippie.

11 comments on “Writing Prompt #106 “Valuable Lessons from Mom”

  1. Tournesol (Clr)
    May 10, 2015

    Your mom is amazing, Yves. I was raised Catholic too but never told my kids about hell…I believe that for some living here is their hell and others will be karma…but the rest…not sure…but since my mom passed, I do feel her often in the oddest times.

    • mindlovemisery
      May 10, 2015

      She does have some wonderful qualities. From what I have read at your blog you sound like amazing mum yourself!

  2. Pingback: Writing Prompt #106 “Valuable Lessons from Mum” | Morpethroad

  3. hitandrun1964
    May 10, 2015

    Actually, the most valuable lesson my mom taught me (and I just realized this) was that I was stronger and tougher than anyone, so she just let me live my own way, since she had no chance of controlling me. She would quietly tell me what she thought and then move out of the way. I’m still strong and tough and my life belongs to me because I was always allowed to live it my own way. I’m so grateful for that:) ❤

    • mindlovemisery
      May 11, 2015

      How wonderful that is Gigi! I can relate as I have always gone my own way whatever other’s opinions might be.

  4. Pingback: My Mother – Writing Prompt #106 “Valuable Lessons from Mom” and Wordle #60 “May 11, 2015″ | ladyleemanila

  5. hitandrun1964
    May 11, 2015

    I think that’s the only way to live. If you listen to others, you end up living THEIR lives instead of your own. 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Dragon’s Lyre Cataloging Sheila #8 (5.11 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    May 11, 2015

    Please see my link in the MLMM Wordle prompt as I used this prompt in my
    continuing Sheila series.
    But you can also go here:

    The Dragon’s Lyre

  8. Pingback: Alone isn’t Lonely – Phylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

