Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

fictionalizing

photography: @ phylor 2012

 

I call my blog a “fictional autobiography.” I love the juxtaposition of fancy and fact.

Fictional autobiography is this week’s Tale Weaver Prompt # 4.

Now it’s your turn to get fictional and autobiographical.

Create your fictional autobiography, using your life as a template. Turn the facts of you into the fiction of you. Possible scenarios: you write the introduction to your published fictional autobiography; bio for book signing tour.

“The year I won the Pulitzer, Nobel, and Man Booker prizes, I was inspired to write this book. My life has been so fascinating, I was sure every one would buy the book.”

Create a fictional character turning “fact” into “fiction.” Provide a brief synopsis of the character, then perhaps, a self-written pr package or blog post(s) of their fictionalized life story.

“Leonard Snort is a funny little man who only wears shades of neon orange. He is socially awkward, he likes women but turns bright red when he sees one. This clashes with his orange outfits.”

“Even laughter cries:” autobiographical blog of Leonard Snort

March 13, 2015

The executives decided my laugh was no longer needed for tv laugh tracks. I jumped over the conference table and took them down with mixed martial arts.”

Or, you could use a “real” person, living or dead, and fictionalize their autobiography. You don’t have to Google; use what you know, look at what they have done. Perhaps they are giving a (motivational) speech about their lives.

“It is our pleasure to have as our speaker tonight, Warren Zevon.

Let me tell you a bit about my life. I have been writing and singing gospel music from the age of 5. Last night, missing my family, I drank milk, ate chocolate chip cookies made by the kids, and wrote a new song.”

There are no word limits.

When your fictional tale weaving is done, please TAG your post: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and Tale Weaver. Ping back to this page and add your link to our new Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Linky Button.

About taleweavering

"I think I made you up inside my head.” Sylvia Plath

18 comments on “fictionalizing

  1. summerstommy2
    March 12, 2015

    This an excellent challenge phylor….now where to go???

    • phylor
      March 12, 2015

      I don’t know! Do you have any suggestions?

      • summerstommy2
        March 12, 2015

        I meant with my tale.

      • phylor
        March 12, 2015

        oops! I meant the general direction of the blog not next week!

  2. Jen
    March 12, 2015

    This will be fun 🙂

    • phylor
      March 13, 2015

      I do hope you enjoy creating fiction out of fact!

  3. Pingback: Tale Weaver Prompt # 4.- Fictional Autobiography – JL’s Private Hotel. | Morpethroad

  4. Pingback: Paloma’s Delight Song (free verse) | Blog It or Lose It!

  5. phylor
    March 12, 2015

    I think it will. I’m editing my fictional autobiography — giving a motivation speech.

  6. Pingback: Her Journey – Fictionalizing | ladyleemanila

  7. Pingback: the wonder drug – Phylor's Blog

  8. Pingback: Tesla : (8 Brian Strong) : Fiction-haibun 3.12 | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  9. julespaige
    March 12, 2015

    I went with the fictional bio of Brian Strong…and the sort of twins.
    https://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2015/03/12/tesla-8-brian-strong-fiction-haibun-3-12/

    • phylor
      March 13, 2015

      I will be drawn into your narrative. Thanks for participating and continuing your story arch.

  10. Pingback: Fictionalizing | mindlovemisery

  11. phylor
    March 14, 2015

    I hang my head; I posted on the 12 and forgot to link up! I realized today that I had not done my duty, lol.
    At least there was a ping-back!

  12. Pingback: The Murales – Flash Fiction – March 17, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  13. Bastet
    March 17, 2015

    As I don’t see my ping coming up here’s a link to my post: http://wp.me/p31In3-4IJ

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2015 by in Tale Weaver Prompt and tagged , , .
