Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Prompt # 84 – Soap Opera – December 7th 2014

Credits: Wikipedia

 

From Yves:
I haven’t watched many soap operas in my time, maybe a couple of episodes with my cousin who was positively obsessed with Days of our Lives. From what I gather amnesia is as common as the cold, everyone has a missing twin, airplanes are not a very reliable form of transportation, and pharmaceuticals are a requisite for ensuring love. There are even times when life feels like a soap opera. Sometimes we invite/cause the drama knowingly or unknowingly. Sometimes events spiral out of our control and things that had seemed impossible begin to occur with shocking regularity. Sometimes a person in our lives accelerates our pace to a nearly hysterical degree. Your job is to either create a drama or recount a time when your own life became a circus.

 

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

20 comments on “Prompt # 84 – Soap Opera – December 7th 2014

  1. Tracesofthesoul
    December 7, 2014

    Oh my this will be therapeutic for me this week :)!!

    • Bastet
      December 7, 2014

      Sound like you’ll come up with something interesting!

  2. Pingback: Prompt # 84 – Soap Opera – December 7th 2014 – The Last Word | Morpethroad

  3. Jez Farmer
    December 7, 2014

    Reblogged this on Jeremy's Daily Challenge.

  4. phylor
    December 7, 2014

    Love that the image is Dark Shadows. The ONLY soap opera I watched (I don’t think I would have liked the recent film version) — now that takes me back! As for drama, I could just describe a family get together, lol.

    • julespaige
      December 8, 2014

      I don’t want to see the movie either…
      Drama and keeping the ‘Fun’ in Dysfunctional that’s my family too 🙂

      • phylor
        December 9, 2014

        I love “keeping the Fun in Dysfunctional” Now that would be a wild family gathering!

      • julespaige
        December 9, 2014

        I don’t think our family is original in that concept.
        I tried googling to find the history of the quote and got way too much information…

        Kind of like when your elder tells a risque joke – they seem quite comfortable but you are at the table with multiple generations and just want to turn invisible.

      • phylor
        December 10, 2014

        As the saying goes: been there, done that!
        Or they start telling family stories best left untold, or describe in horrible detail some misstep from your youth.

      • Bastet
        December 10, 2014

        lol … cool, hadn’t realized how goofy that phrase had come out!

    • Bastet
      December 8, 2014

      Hi Phylor … been a little tied up but it’s nice to see you … Dark Shadows was also the only soap opera I’d ever seen … so when i was looking for a photo .. and saw that, I jumped. The film was funny actually … I much preferred the soap 😉

  5. julespaige
    December 8, 2014

    I watched Dark Shadows as a pre-teen. I still have that music box theme in my head!!! 🙂

    …more tomorrow. …da da – da de da-da…

    • Bastet
      December 8, 2014

      I know what you mean … the theme came to my mind when I saw the pic.

      • julespaige
        December 8, 2014

        I didn’t know it at the time… but I actually met a couple of the writers in the 1960’s.

      • Bastet
        December 8, 2014

        Wow! That’s too cool …

  6. Pingback: Popped Soap Bubbles (three prompts 12.8) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    December 8, 2014

    Posting the link at Wordle 38 since I combined prompts again 🙂

    https://julesinflashyfiction.wordpress.com/2014/12/08/popped-soap-bubbles-three-prompts-12-8/

    • Bastet
      December 8, 2014

      Cool … It’ll be interesting to read them (it) 🙂 !

  8. Pingback: The Renaud scandal | Traces of the Soul

  9. Pingback: this little drama | Phylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2014 by in Written Prompt and tagged , , , .
