Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

BJ Shadorma & Beyond – November 15, 2014

Hello Everybody!

First of all a special thanks to all of you who participated last week!  You did a great job some of you took up the challenge of writing an original poem in trochaic meter, some straight shadorma and yet others mixed the two … but each of you did a fantastic job. So let’s give ourselves a big applause!

applause animated GIF

Remember the trochaic foot went:

Tell me not in mournful numbers

– the stress being on the first of the two syllables in the metric foot.

The more common iambic foot ( a metric foot is two syllables btw) is an unstressed syllable followed by a stressed syllable. Syllables my friends not words …

That time of year thou mayst in me behold.

Now in the trochaic example I used a tetrameter line that is 4 trochees in 8 syllables … in the iambic example I used a pentameter  line that is 5 iambs in 10 syllables.  Which is the most common sort of meter in the English language over the last 700 years or so.

 

If music be the food of love, play on;
Give me excess of it, that, surfeiting,
The appetite may sicken, and so die.
That strain again! it had a dying fall:
O, it came o’er my ear like the sweet sound,

 

 (Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare)

(I think that you’ll notice by the way … that poets rarely write in just iambic or trochaic meter … except for particular forms … and then, often, the rules become guidelines and mixed meter often occurs 😉 .)

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

So … this week’s challenge: we’re going to be to try our hand with a strange little form called:

The Cavatina

Said to be an Italian poem from the 14th century, it is a series of quatrain stanzas … made-up of uneven couplets … no rhyme required but the meter is a switch between iambic pentameter and iambic dimeter (4 syllables).

The quatrain can be as many as you like, but to end the poem we use a declamatory couplet (declamatory: expressing feelings or opinions in a way that is loud and forceful)  in rhymed iambic pentameter.

Here’s an example:

I ran a race I never meant to win
No reason why
I ate the cake and then I thought I’d die
It was too rich

The king was raging when he broke his leg
His horse was blue
The woman wanted Grace to read the news
Her voice is sweet

And all of this is just a lot of goo
So you can write in pentameter too!

For more information about the Cavatina follow this link to  Poetry Forms at  Poets Collective.

Here’s a Video Prompt that might help you write your Cavatina:

Of course you may wish to write a Shadorma or you may introduce or end your Cavatina with a Shadorma (a Shadorma is a non-rhyming six-line poem with a syllable count of 3/5/3/3/7/5). The important thing is to have fun!

Once you’ve written your post please tag:  BJ’s Shadorma & Beyond andMindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, then put your info onto the Mr. Linky app.  If you ping us back, we’ll be able to read your post ASAP because we will be notified that you’ve written the post (not so with Mr. Linky).
Have a great week folks and happy writing!

Ciao, Bastet

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

19 comments on “BJ Shadorma & Beyond – November 15, 2014

  1. Bastet
    November 15, 2014

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet's Library and commented:

    Here’s this week’s BJ Shadorma & Beyond ready for you at last!

  2. J
    November 15, 2014

    Ooh! Iambic will be as challenging for me as trochaic was for many of the others! Looks fun.

    Love the applause GIF too. 🙂

    • Bastet
      November 15, 2014

      Thanks … the applause gif gave me a bit of trouble – until I just decided to copy and paste the photo … 🙂

  3. J
    November 15, 2014

    declamatory: expressing feelings or opinions in a way that is loud and forceful

    • Bastet
      November 15, 2014

      Yep … should I make a ref link do you think?

      • J
        November 15, 2014

        Might not be a bad idea. I was kind of scratching my head, wondering if it was something specific I should know about … turned out it was simple … but ….

      • Bastet
        November 16, 2014

        I’m late reading this … will get onto it asap.

  4. J
    November 15, 2014

    Reblogged this on Blog It or Lose It! and commented:

    Here are the rules for a cavatina again, in convenient list form:
    1. You pick the number of quatrains (4-line stanzas); end your poem with a couplet (2-line stanza);
    2. The couplet expresses strong emotion or opinion;
    3. The rhyme scheme is XAXA / XBXB / XCXC / … / DD, where “X” means the line doesn’t need to rhyme at all;
    4. Each quatrain (four-line stanza) has 2 uneven couplets; 1st in iambic pentameter and 2nd in iambic dimeter;
    5. Ending couplet has 2 lines of rhymed iambic pentameter.

  5. Pingback: BJ Shadorma & Beyond – November 15, 2014 | Blog It or Lose It!

  6. Pingback: Heavy | mindlovemisery

  7. Pingback: A trip to Pompey – BJ and Red Wolf – November 16, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  8. Pingback: 11.16 My Day : MLM Nov 15, ’14 | julesgemstonepages

  9. julespaige
    November 16, 2014

    Not at home. So I just did a Shadorma series. The wp is in the linky (I hope – gave me some grief so I hope it is there)…

    B is here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2014/11/1116-shadorma-series-my-day-mlm-prompt.html

    • Bastet
      November 16, 2014

      I’ll look into it and give you a yell if it isn’t.

    • Bastet
      November 16, 2014

      It came off fine!

  10. Pingback: Time’s Soft Flesh (Cavatina) | Blog It or Lose It!

  11. Meenal Sonal
    November 18, 2014

    Very good prompt. Playing with syllable numbers and writing is so much fun.

    • Bastet
      November 18, 2014

      Thanks! I’m glad you are going to have fun! 🙂

  12. Pingback: BJ’s Shadorma and Beyond – November 22, 2014 | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2014 by in Shadorma and tagged , , , , , , , .
