Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weaver’s Prompt#33 “Shadow People”

Shadow People Hypothetic Realist

Hypothetic Realist@Deviant Art

Today’s prompt was inspired by an anime I watch Mushishi. This anime is perfectly suitable for adults and probably directed at a more mature audience though rating wise it is very clean (no sex, nudity, or gore). In the anime a little girl must trade places with a shadow (the trade transpires when the unattached shadow steps on the little girl’s shadow). The shadow lives the life that very likely would have been the girls, while the girl exists in a state of perpetual dusk. You can write from either perspective. You can even imagine life if you were to trade places with your own shadow. Alternatively you can write about shadows. As a girl I often saw humanoid shadows for which I could ascertain no source and I found these very frightening.

If you would like you can view the episode here

http://www.animewind.tv/video-play/mushishi_zoku_shou-episode-13#.VFqJwfl4qgY

About mindlovemisery

Music: PJ Harvey, Radio Head, Fleetwood Mac, David Usher/Moist, Johnny Cash, Portishead, Damien Rice (basically I am a 90s kid I like alternative, grunge, Industrial and other types of metal, oldies, punk, rock etc.) Authors: Sylvia Plath, James Baldwin, Edmund White, Arthur Rimbaud, Jim Carrol, Jeff Noon, etc. Movies: A Clock Work Orange, Fight Club, House of Flying Daggers (I like a lot of cult movies, horror, comedy, drama, I don't like action and fantasy is terrifying lol) Philosophical Beliefs: Buddhism, Daoism, Shintoism (before it changed under Nationalism), The Transcendent Order Favorite Video Game: Planescape Torment What I do: read, write, yoga, pilates, weight-lift, walk, study philosophy and psychology, dance like a crazy person, paint, dream etc. Qualities: stubborn, sarcastic, teasing, playful, open, flirtatious, eccentric, passionate, forgetful, open-minded I am 32 and married (almost 13 years) with a beautiful 5 year old daughter. Everyone thinks I'm a hippie.

26 comments on “Tale Weaver’s Prompt#33 “Shadow People”

  1. hitandrun1964
    November 6, 2014

    if you lay very still
    you can feel them
    around you
    you can hear
    whispers
    of their movements
    you can see
    their shadows on the walls
    and ceiling
    as they watch
    and wait
    I don’t know what
    or who they are
    I don’t know
    what they want
    but they are
    always there
    always
    watching
    always
    waiting

    always

    • mindlovemisery
      November 6, 2014

      This is wonderfully creepy Gigi. Have you seen them too?

    • Traces of the Soul
      November 8, 2014

      This goes so well with that animé…very twilight zone!

      • mindlovemisery
        November 8, 2014

        Did you watch the anime? I am curious if anyone will haha

      • Traces of the Soul
        November 8, 2014

        I did watch it and that is why I have to change my story…haha…or maybe I will write one just from that photo and one from the animé…it is really really good!!

      • mindlovemisery
        November 8, 2014

        I am glad you liked it can’t wait to see!

  2. Pingback: 11.6 Peckish Penumbra | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  3. julespaige
    November 6, 2014

    Amazing what combining prompts and sleeping children will allow one to do…
    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2014/11/06/11-6-peckish-penumbra/

  4. Pingback: Rescue Me | georgeplacepoetry by Debi Swim

  5. gailatthefarm
    November 7, 2014

    I’m not sure how I got here but glad I arrived. I am giving it a try. Thanks for the prompt.

    • mindlovemisery
      November 7, 2014

      It is my pleasure and I am so very glad you did find us!

  6. Meenal Sonal
    November 7, 2014

    Shadow is an important part of life. My entry with twist

  7. Traces of the Soul
    November 8, 2014

    It is creepy and yet cool in a mysterious way. What an amazing prompt! i had an idea of my story just from the photo but after watching the animé, it is different now…back to the drawing board.

    • mindlovemisery
      November 8, 2014

      Well you can do two one based on the drawing and one from the anime if you like. I really love that anime, it is creepy but it is so intriguing to me.

      • Traces of the Soul
        November 8, 2014

        haha you just commented on what I just replied earlier….I didn`t find it creepy just twilight zonish:)

      • mindlovemisery
        November 8, 2014

        That is a good description, my brain is a bit scattered today haha

  8. Pingback: Shadows light years away | Traces of the Soul

  9. Traces of the Soul
    November 9, 2014

    Happy birthday
    poet, mentor
    writer to stay
    young and creative
    bright and inventive
    compassion
    determination
    generous with time
    hope you enjoy today
    it`s yours the whole day!

  10. Pingback: Shadow visits (free verse) | Traces of the Soul

  11. Pingback: Dementia’s nightly visits (free verse) | Stop the Stigma

  12. Pingback: Sally decides to shine | LOVE HAPPY NOTES - The Home of Inspiration, Happiness and Fun

  13. Pingback: Corpus | Sweet FA by Blake

  14. Pingback: The new moon rapist (Cherita & Shadorma) | Traces of the Soul

Leave a Reply

