Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

BJ’s Shadorma & Beyond – October 18, 2014

Hello Everybody!

Do I have some news for you!

The other day Yves and I were chatting  wondering how best to serve you.  We came up with this great idea: expand the Shadorma prompt to other poetry forms (except of course  for haiku and tanka).

Of course, you probably say, well what’s new in that since we’ve already encountered the elfje, brevette, tyburn, tilus and acrostic (etc) … well the difference is this:  we’ll be adding a new form every week, and not necessarily a “little one”.  That means we’ll introduce anything from the  ABC Poem to a  Zejel.

Of course as we’re the only blog (that I know of) that has a regular Shadorma prompt we certainly aren’t abandoning the Shadorma … but you will have the choice of:

1) writing your poem in the weekly featured form,

2) mixing the introduced from with the Shadorma,

3) write a poem using just the Shadorma …

or as usual the freedom to use our photo prompts writing what you wish.

You may be asking why I keep using the second person plural … and what does that BJ mean … well this is the second great bit of news … writing with me will be Jen from Blog it or Lose it!

Jen is a fantastically prolific writer … she writes everything from prose to that epic wonder the fornyrðislag, passing through haiku, haibun and haiga along the way (and yes … she takes some fantastic photos and loves to play with them — a maid after me own heart!).  You can read one of her interesting prompts this week in Carpe Diem Haiku Kai where she was Ghost Writer  (go to the link).

For the moment we will be alternating our weekly appearance until we can figure out a better way to present the prompts … and just to add a cherry to the sundae …  as soon as we can figure the best way to do so, we will be adding a reference page of all the forms we’ve encountered and used here on the poetry prompt … updated with links to the posts.

Enough … now this week’s photo prompt:

Wordless Haiku

This week’s photo prompt is a wordless haiku which I posted a couple of weeks ago – so it tells a story but I’m hoping you will write a new one for me in Shadorma or with another “little one” the Pleiades.

A Pleiades is another one of the relatively new short poetry forms invented in 1999 by Craig Tigerman.  It’s rather simple to write .. writing it well may not be so simple though.  It’s a 7 line poem (like the stars in the famous Pleiades star Cluster in the Constellation of Taurus) – each line has 6 syllables and begins with the same letter.  Here’s my example:

The Cat

Autumn in the valley
Auburn leaves had fallen
Ambling I saw a house
Abandoned near the trail …
Alone and quite serene
A cat spied me – it yawned
And showed me her rosy tongue!

(c) G.s.k. ’14

For more information about the Pleiades go to Shadow Poetry which has another example and more background info and you can go and look at another examples on my personal blog Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library:  Walking.

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

A shadorma is composed of six non-rhyming lines (sestina or sextet) and the syllable pattern is 3-5-3-3-7-5.  It can have as many stanzas as you like, just as long as each stanza follows the syllable pattern mentioned above . 

You have a week to create your poems so be patient and let the photo inspire you!  Or use your own photograph or art work!

Once you’ve written your post please tagBJ’s Shadorma & Beyond  and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, then put your info onto the Mr. Linky app!  If you ping me back, I’ll be able to read your post asap because I will be notified that you’ve written the post (not so with Mr. Linky)…That’s all there is to it!

See you next week and have fun!  Bastet!

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

29 comments on “BJ’s Shadorma & Beyond – October 18, 2014

  1. Pingback: Marduk’s Lament – Pleiades – October 18, 2014 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Bastet
    October 18, 2014

    Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet's Library and commented:

    Here’s the Shadorma post … but full of news for everyone!

  3. J
    October 18, 2014

    Reblogged this on Blog It or Lose It! and commented:

    Introducing … BJ’s Shadorma and Beyond! I’m very grateful to Yves and Georgia at MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie for welcoming me on board. At some point I’ll be co-hosting this prompt. Since this is (most likely) the only shadorma prompt site the shadorma will still feature prominently – but new poetic forms will be introduced alongside the shadorma.

  4. J
    October 18, 2014

    Hi there! Thank you for the glowing welcome and the positive words — this means a lot. I’m very excited about this — can hardly wait to see everybody’s responses 🙂

    • Bastet
      October 18, 2014

      Welcome aboard once again! The fun has just begun! 😀

      • J
        October 18, 2014

        Oh yeah!!!!
        [insert maniacal giggle here]

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2014

        LOL!

  5. Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
    October 18, 2014

    Oh boy what a challenge!! Good luck to both of you and thanks for all the hard work you both put into your work and in these prompts. Not sure I will have the time but will try…Chapeau les filles!!

    • J
      October 18, 2014

      Thanks Oliana –very exciting!!!

      • Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
        October 18, 2014

        May be too much for my head…taking on more work lately with interviews. I can`t think fast anymore…I find I take hours to post now

      • J
        October 18, 2014

        Oh, I am so sorry. Perhaps things will slow down at work soon and you’ll be able to slow down and breathe a bit once you get home.

      • Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
        October 18, 2014

        October to at least March is always busy, morbid, stressful…we get calls from 5 to 20 yr olds but also university students now in one part of the country. Success in our service means busy. Yesterday 3 people called in sick…hate finishing my week that busy, at one point I felt like the girl in the Exorcist wanting to spin my head back to sanity

      • J
        October 18, 2014

        Oh dear. 😦
        Guess it’s that Seasonal Affective Disorder at work — as well as the approach of the holiday season. I’m sorry it’s so stressful.

      • Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
        October 18, 2014

        stress, demanding parents, abuse, sexual abuse…I have already written a 3 part fiction to unwind…The Mysterious Gift

      • J
        October 18, 2014

        Will have to go check it out 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2014

        I think I remember you having similar problems last year, certainly the darker months are the more difficult to handle …

      • Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
        October 18, 2014

        Yes it is busy from now until Spring

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2014

        I just hope the pace slows down a little … don’t like to think how stressing it might becoming.

      • Oliana @Tracesofthesoul
        October 18, 2014

        I save a week vacation from this year to take in Feb or March…I pace myself, cara

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2014

        So you recoup in spring … still, until then it’s a heavy load … sigh.

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2014

        I too am sorry you’re getting swamped with work .. I know how much you enjoy posting .. but can certainly understand your problem!

    • Bastet
      October 18, 2014

      Thanks Oliana … it’s certainly a novelty for me … hope you will be able to find time to join us … you always write such wonderful Shadorma! Again thanks for the your best wishes and vote of appreciation … un abbraccio forte forte! Georgia.

  6. Pingback: Pinkitude (Pleiades) | Blog It or Lose It!

  7. julespaige
    October 18, 2014

    I love the Seven Sisters. I can see them blinking in late summer and early autumn from the back of my house (I think the south west sky later in the evening). When I use stronger magnification I can actually see the shooting stars. And I know I’ve written about them before…

    I’m running some errands this morning. But I will be back. Thanks for, well just everything. The information, the learning, the friendship and community. I rarely am at a loss for words; I am just very grateful for the support of everyone at this Menagerie!

    • Bastet
      October 18, 2014

      Thank you so very much Jules for such a lovely comment, I think I can speak for all of us when I say that it’s wonderful to have met such a fantastic person like you whom we can call friend. A huge hug! Georgia

  8. Pingback: 10.18 MLM: three kernels | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  9. julespaige
    October 18, 2014

    Wowzers – this was interesting. Well at least for me:
    Mostly because I am trying to harvest what my trees gift me with.
    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2014/10/18/10-18-mlm-three-kernels/

    • Bastet
      October 19, 2014

      Ah and so I read .. dear me .. do I remember trying to get walnut stains off my hands … what a mess .. you did a fantastic post Jules, thanks for dropping by!

  10. Pingback: May He Find Peace | File Cabinet Ramblings

Leave a Reply

